Indigenous advisory committee

The Indigenous Advisory Committee (IAC) provides cultural and ethical guidance for the Laureate Program and the Research Centre for Deep History. The IAC comprises an outstanding group of Indigenous scholars and activists who have generously agreed to share their national and community leadership expertise with our team.

Jakelin Troy


Lorina L. Barker

Deputy Chair

Lynette Russell

General advisory committee

The Rediscovering the Deep Human Past Laureate Program established an Advisory Committee comprising a talented group of Indigenous and non-Indigenous scholars. Committee members serve for one or more two year terms. They were selected for their scholarly and community leadership and for their particular fields of historical and complementary interdisciplinary expertise. They continue to bring this outstanding range of experience and expertise to the Research Centre.

Jakelin Troy


Jakelin Troy is a Ngarigu woman and Director of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Research at The University of Sydney. Jaky’s research and academic interests focus on languages, particularly endangered Aboriginal and ‘contact languages’, language education, linguistics, anthropology and visual arts. Jaky’s extensive experience and engagement in Indigenous scholarship helps guide the Research Centre in vital ways.

Lynette Russell

deputy Chair

Lynette Russell is a Laureate Fellow and Professor of Indigenous Studies (History) at the Monash Indigenous Studies Centre. Currently Deputy Director of the Australian Research Council’s Centre of Excellence for Australian Biodiversity and Heritage, her work is deeply interdisciplinary and collaborative, creating research outputs focused on showing the dynamism of Aboriginal responses to colonialism, their agency and subjectivity. Lynette’s outstanding leadership in the Humanities and Social Sciences is greatly valued.

Malcolm Allbrook

Dr Malcolm Allbrook is a research fellow in the National Centre of Biography, School of History, Australian National University, and managing editor of the Australian Dictionary of Biography. He is currently a chief investigator on the Australian Research Council (ARC) Discovery Project ‘An Indigenous Australian Dictionary of Biography’. Malcolm also brings to his role on the Advisory Committee the experience of being a research associate on Ann McGrath’s ARC Project on the history of research at Lake Mungo.

Lorina L. Barker

Lorina Barker is a descendant of the Wangkumara and Muruwari people, Adnyamathanha, the Kooma and Kunja, and the Kurnu-Baarkandji. Lorina is an oral historian and filmmaker and teaches Modern Australian History, Oral History and Local and Community History at University of New England. Lorina’s experience in the use of multimedia as part of projects to transfer knowledge, history, stories and culture to the next generations is highly regarded.

Alison Bashford

Alison Bashford is Director of the New Earth Histories Research Program at the University of New South Wales. With an impressive range of prestigious publications, Alison is currently writing a book on the Huxley family of natural historians and biologists, including their investigations into deep human pasts and distant futures. Alison lends valuable experience in history, geopolitics and life on earth.

Emma Kowal

Emma Kowal is Professor of Anthropology at the Alfred Deakin Institute and Convener of the Science and Society Network at Deakin University. Much of her work is at the intersection of science and technology studies, postcolonial studies and indigenous studies, important considerations for the Research Centre. Emma’s outstanding contribution in the field of ethical protocols in Indigenous scholarship and history is much valued.

Jane Lydon

Jane Lydon is the Wesfarmers Chair of Australian History at the University of Western Australia. Her research centres upon Australia’s colonial past and its legacies in the present. Formerly an archaeologist working with Indigenous communities, Jane now works as a historian interested in the ways that popular and especially visual culture has shaped ideas and debates about race, identity and rights.

Julian Thomas

Julian Thomas is the Director of the Centre of Excellence for Automated Decision-Making and Society and a Professor of Media and Communications at RMIT. He has had a long involvement in the development of digital repositories and archives in the humanities and social sciences. Julian is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Humanities, and a board member of the Australian Communications Consumers Action Network (ACCAN). He lends valued expertise in new media and digital inclusion.

Peter Yu

Peter Yu is a Yawuru man with over 35 years’ experience in Indigenous development and advocacy in the Kimberley and at the state, national and international level. He is Chair or Deputy Chair of a number of organisations relating to Indigenous development and advocacy as well as a Council Member of the Governing Board of the Australian National University and CEO of Nyamba Buru Yawuru. Peter’s business and organisational acumen as well as outstanding track record in community leadership will be especially helpful.